Leadership Team

Judy Fitzgerald was appointed Commissioner of the Georgia Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental Disabilities (DBHDD) by Governor Nathan Deal in 2016. She has been with DBHDD since 2012, previously serving in the roles of Chief of Staff and Deputy Commissioner.

Fitzgerald is a social worker with a career-long focus on behavioral health and public service delivery systems. Prior to joining DBHDD, she worked in a variety of health and human service settings. She served as Vice President of Strategy for View Point Health, one of Georgia’s twenty-six community service boards. She has also worked as a consultant on child and adolescent services in several states and was the Executive Director for the Mental Health Association of Georgia. Fitzgerald was privileged to begin her career in the Mental Health Program of The Carter Center, working for former First Lady Rosalynn Carter on domestic and international advocacy and policy efforts to promote mental health and reduce the stigma of mental illness.

Fitzgerald earned her master’s degree in social work from the University of Georgia. She and her husband Tim Gould live in Cobb County with their two children, Abbie and Jack.

Commissioner Judy Fitzgerald

Jeff Minor
Deputy Commissioner and Chief Operating Officer

Amy Howell
Assistant Commissioner and General Counsel

Emile Risby, M.D.
Director, Division of Hospital Services and Chief Medical Officer

David Sofferin
Director, Office of Public Affairs

Ron Wakefield
Director, Division of Developmental Disabilities

Monica Johnson
Director, Division of Behavioral Health

Robert Dorr
Director, Division of Accountability and Compliance

Melissa Sperbeck
Director, Divison of Performance Management and Quality Improvement

Lavin Briggs
Director, Special Projects

Greg Hoyt
Director, Office of Hospital Operations

Doug Engle
Director, Office of Information Technology

Mark Green
Director, Office of Human Resources and Learning

Mary Price
Director, Office of Budget and Finance