The Georgia Behavioral Health Reform and Innovation Commission (BHRIC) was formed to conduct a comprehensive review of the behavioral health system of care in Georgia. In the 2022 session, the Georgia General Assembly passed House Bill 1013, the Georgia Mental Health Parity Act (MHPA), which was informed by the commission’s first report. The act includes provisions for comprehensive behavioral health reform, specifically elements that align Georgia law with the federal Mental Health Parity and Addiction Equity Act (MHPAEA) and help monitor compliance with MHPAEA. The Georgia law also outlines new work for the commission and extends the commission’s work for two additional years. BHRIC has 24 appointed members and is chaired by former state representative and current Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental Disabilities (DBHDD) Commissioner Kevin Tanner.

The commission has five subcommittees tasked with reviewing these focus areas:

  1. Children and Adolescent Behavioral Health (CABH), chaired by Dr. Eric Lewkowiez
  2. Involuntary Commitment (IC), chaired by Judge Sarah Harris
  3. Hospital and Short-Term Care Facilities (HSCF), chaired by Dr. Brenda Fitzgerald
  4. Mental Health Courts and Corrections (MHCC), chaired by Chief Justice Michael Boggs
    1. Forensic Competency Advisory (FCA) Committee, chaired by Judge KathleneGosselin
  5. Workforce and System Development (WFSD), chaired by Rep. Mary Margaret Oliver